An IDMT Perspective on the Refugee Mission

by Ssgt. Francisco Schmalbach

What a year! I finished IDMT training in February of 2021 and was assigned to McConnell AFB in March of 2021. With only a few months of experience under my belt, I was tasked with a 4 month deployment to Udeid Air Base (DEID) in August, 2021. As I began this new chapter as an IDMT, I learned to rely on my training, adapt quickly, connect with experienced IDMTs, and be resourceful. The rigors of IDMT School taught me to work hard and counsel with experienced medical personnel.

 Prior to my deployment, I had the opportunity to connect with a previous IDMT that served in at the DEID. She provided a preview of what to expect, available resources, and what supplies to bring. I highly recommend, if possible, connecting with other IDMTs that serve in the location you will be deployed. Preparation is part of successful deployment. Nonetheless, an IDMT must adapt to mission changes and unexpected events. 

The initial few weeks of my deployment happened as planned: Uneventful and with plentiful resources. A few weeks later, refugees at midnight were being evacuated out of Afghanistan known as Operation Allies Refuge. Air Force aircraft began to arrive with thousands of refugees, and the population of DEID swelled with over 13,000 refugees on the base with another 60, 000 passing through the base. The base was not prepared to receive such a drastic influx of people. This unexpected amount of people depleted resources and absorbed all manpower. Suddenly, all hands were on deck to assist the mission.

 As an IDMT, I responded to multiple medical IFEs which included treating patients for dehydration, hypoxia, and heat related illnesses. As other medical personnel assisted on scene with refugees, I was quickly utilized as a primary care provider in the medical clinic due to low manpower. As resources were tight, I was able to use my stocked med bag to treat active duty patients in the clinic. I was grateful for the IDMT who advised me to bring a stocked medical bag and to plan for unexpected scenarios. 

During this deployment, I was forward deployed with part of my unit to a remote location where resources and manpower were scarce. I easily adapted to this situation due to involvement with Operation Allies Refuge. In this forward deployment, I developed relationships of trust within my unit which allowed me to provide effective medical care and model how IDMTs can be an integral part of a unit. 

Although many unexpected events happened during my deployment, I am indebted to all the valuable experiences in which I could put into practice my training, cope well with unanticipated events, foster relationships within my unit, and demonstrate the value of an IDMT.

Published by IDMT Newsletter

Independent Duty Medical Technician Quarterly Newsletter

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started