How To: Have A Successful PCS to a GSU

By SSgt Katelyn Watson

After settling in to my new Geographically Separated Unit (GSU) here at the 731st Munitions Squadron in Camp Darby Italy, I wanted to assist other IDMT’s in the process of being assigned to these unique places. Even if you are a legacy IDMT or a new graduate, the process of a PCS can be chaotic and confusing especially if assigned to a location overseas. 

In addition to the tips listed below, I couldn’t have had this successful of a PCS without the assistance of the IDMT’s at Camp Darby. From the moment I received orders, Master Sergeant Amanda Ramsey and Technical Sergeant Eric Martinez connected online to discuss the intricate details of this assignment. Thanks to their experience and availability to answer my questions, I was able to arrive fully prepared for my new job and responsibilities. 

  1. Figure out the mission, occupational hazards, and programs assigned to the IDMT

To better prepare yourself for this role, I would research the dynamics of the squadron. Are they on the Personnel Reliability Program (PRP), flying/controlling status, or Arming Use of Force (AUoF)? What is the medical capabilities of the surrounding cities? Will I be running the hearing conservation program or drug demand reduction program (DDRP)? By taking time to understand the logistics of your incoming squadron and training for upcoming programs, you can better serve your patients when you arrive.

2.) Make connections with your home MTF

Prior to leaving my previous assignment, I reached out to several of the IDMTs assigned to my home MTF. Thanks to some wonderful IDMT’s, I was able to get a ride from the airport, a tour of the base, and assistance with check-in into the transient lodging facility. After a 26 hour flight, I was extremely thankful for their guidance.

3.) Get systems access prior to arriving

I absolutely despise writing notes, especially after IDMT school (I am looking at you schoolhouse instructors). Prior to arriving, I was able to route up systems access with the assistance of the IDMT coordinator and my sponsor. On my first day, I was able to see patients and chart in a medical record.

4.) Buy military essentials prior to leaving for your GSU

Depending on your GSU, you may not have access to basic military supplies. At Camp Darby, there is no location to buy uniform items to include shirts, PT gear, boots, and hats. I made sure to stock up on essentials in the case of my household goods being delayed (No surprise – it did).

5.) Schedule time to talk with the 4N Functional Manager and SGH

Perhaps one of the most important aspects of your TDY en route to a GSU is connecting with your medical leadership. I recommend having a formal meeting with your functional manager and SGH to discuss any concerns, questions, expectations, or guidance on your new assignment. As provider extenders, our medical leadership needs to trust our ability to be at a remote site.

7.) Relax, enjoy your time, and get ready to work!

GSU’s can seem overwhelming, but there is several individuals who can guide you into this new assignment. Explore the city, appreciate the culture, and make new friends. These will be the moments you look fondly of in your career. Expect things to not be perfect, and accept the chaos of a permanent change of station.

Published by IDMT Newsletter

Independent Duty Medical Technician Quarterly Newsletter

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started